Liam Neeson on backing out of Lincoln

Liam Neeson, who was Steven Spielberg’s original choice for the title role in Lincoln, talked about his decision to back out of the project in an interview with GQ. The Huffington Post has an excerpt:

“We started reading this, and there was an intro, and then I see ‘Lincoln’: where I have to start speaking, and I just — a thunderbolt moment. I thought, ‘I’m not supposed to be here. This is gone. I’ve passed my sell-by date. I don’t want to play this Lincoln. I can’t be him,'” Neeson said. “It was a very strange feeling, and it was partly grief. I read very, very poorly by any standards, but then some people come up afterward and say, ‘Oh, you’re made to play Lincoln.’ I just was cringing with embarrassment.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Lincoln Updates

Leave a Reply

