Tag Archives: Lincoln Diploma of Honor

Edna Greene Medford to receive Lincoln Diploma of Honor

Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) will confer the degrees of 335 graduates on Saturday, December 13, 2014, during its annual Winter Commencement Exercises. Lincoln scholar and Howard University Professor Edna Greene Medford will deliver the commencement address during the ceremony. The ceremony is set for 11 a.m. at Tex Turner Arena.

A total of 41 associate’s degrees, 133 bachelor’s degrees, 148 master’s, 10 educational doctorate and three doctorates of juris prudence degrees are expected to be awarded. Nearly 375 graduates will participate in the ceremony, including several graduates whose degrees have already been conferred. LMU will present Medford with its highest honor, the Lincoln Diploma of Honor, during the ceremony.

Medford is professor and chairperson of the Department of History at Howard University, in Washington, D.C. She specializes in 19th century United States history and teaches courses in the Jacksonian Era, slavery and Civil War and Reconstruction. She lectures widely to community groups and at universities around the country and abroad. Medford is a frequent contributor to C-SPAN historical programs, and has been featured on several programs hosted by the History Channel and other networks and National Public Radio.

Medford’s publications include co-authorship of The Emancipation Proclamation: Three Views and Historical Perspectives of the African Burial Ground Project; New York Blacks and the Diaspora, (which she edited). She has authored more than two dozen book chapters and journal articles on nineteenth century African Americans, Abraham Lincoln and race in America. She has just completed the monograph Lincoln and Emancipation, which is scheduled for publication in May 2015. Medford is a member of several advisory boards dedicated to the study of and promotion of Civil War history, including the Lincoln Bicentennial Foundation, the Ulysses S. Grant Papers, the Abraham Lincoln Association, the Abraham Lincoln Institute, the Lincoln Studies Center at Knox College, President Lincoln’s Cottage Scholars Advisory Group and the Lincoln Group of the District of Columbia.

Leave a comment

Filed under LMU Lincoln News

Secretary of Transportation awarded Lincoln Diploma of Honor

U.S. Secretary of Transportation Ray LaHood received the Lincoln Diploma of Honor at this year’s winter commencement ceremony at Lincoln Memorial University.  This honorary degree, conferred upon individuals who have made significant contributions toward the study of Lincoln and the perpetuation of his legacy, is the highest tribute awarded by LMU.

Previous recipients of the Lincoln Diploma of Honor include distinguished scholars, writers, and actors such as Michael Burlingame, Bruce Catton, Harold Holzer, Charles Hubbard, Raymond Massey, James McPherson, Phillip Shaw Paludan, Carl Sandburg, and Douglas Wilson.

LaHood, who served the people of Illinois in the U.S. House of Representatives for fourteen years, was instrumental in establishing the Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Commission, which he co-chaired with Senator Richard Durbin.  He stepped down from that post in 2009 to join President Obama’s cabinet.  Before his election to Congress he taught junior high school, and like Lincoln himself, LaHood also sat in the Illinois state legislature.

Pictured below are (left to right) Frank J. Williams, Lincoln author and former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Rhode Island; Dr. B. James Dawson, President of LMU; and Secretary LaHood.

Leave a comment

Filed under LMU Lincoln News